Chairman - Dr Ian McPherson

Appointed in March 2017, initial term of office three years. Dr Ian McPherson is a clinical psychologist by professional background who held senior clinical, managerial and policy implementation roles in a career working across many aspects of health and social care. These include being the Director of the National Mental Health Development Unit and Director of the National Institute for Mental Health in England between 2002 and 2011. Prior to that he had been Director of Mental Health in two NHS Trusts for nine years, having previously held clinical and academic roles for 13 years.

Since finishing full-time employment, Ian has been involved with a number of organisations in the statutory and voluntary sectors. This includes six years as a Non-Executive Director at the Tavistock and Portman NHS Foundation Trust where he was also Vice Chair, and being a Trustee of the Centre for Mental Health, the Mental Health Providers Forum and of the International Initiative in Mental Health Leadership. Ian was awarded the OBE for services to mental health in 2012.

Qualifications: MA in Psychology, University of Glasgow; MSc in Clinical Psychology, University of Birmingham; PhD in Psychology, University of Birmingham; Fellow of British Psychological Society. Awarded OBE for services to mental health in 2012