Public Protection


MAPPA Multi Agency Public Protection Arrangements
Statutory arrangement for multi agency public protection

MAPPP Multi Agency Public Protection Panels
Multi agency risk management meetings for individuals posing the greatest challenge to public safety (Critical Few)
Responsible Authority The statutory body with responsibility for public protection involves:

  • Police Service
  • National Probation Service
  • HM Prison Service
  • SMB Strategic Management Board

Currently, there are three categories of MAPPA offenders and 3 levels of risk management, which can result in a MAPPP for the “Critical Few”. The aim is to reduce offending with defensible risk management strategies.

The three categories of MAPPA offender are:

Category 1: Registered Sex Offenders – offenders required to comply with the notification requirements (often referred to as registration) set out in s.80 or s.81 Sexual Offences Act 2003.

Category 2: Violent or other sex offenders who have committed offences listed in Sch 15 of the Criminal Justice Act 2003 and sentenced to imprisonment for 12 months or more and offenders detained under Hospital Orders (S.37 & S.37/41).

Category 3: Other Offenders - offenders who do not fall into Categories 1 or 2 (eg because their registration or supervision period has ended) but, because of the offences committed by them (wherever they have been committed), are considered to pose a risk of serious harm to the public.


The three Levels of management under MAPPA include:

Level 1: involves single agency management. Offenders are dealt with by Police, Probation or Youth Justice alone – although practitioners in those Services will liaise individually. Level 1 offenders are usually assessed as having a low or medium probability of committing further serious harm but do not need formal joint agency working.

Level 2: referred to as local inter-agency management, where the active involvement of more than one agency is required to manage the offender. Most offenders assessed as high or very high risk of serious harm can be managed at Level 2 where the management plans do not require the attendance and commitment of resources at a senior level.

Level 3: Level 3 activity meetings are known in all Areas as Multi-Agency Public Protection Panels (or MAPPPs). The few cases referred to MAPPPs are those of offenders whose management is so problematic (including those that attract media attention) that multi-agency co-operation and oversight at a senior level is required, together with the authority to commit exceptional resources to strengthen the risk management plan.

Police and Probation are responsible for MAPPA in Surrey and North East Hampshire. The Trust is represented by a member of the Community Forensic Service, as a core member for the monthly level 2 risk management meetings.
SABP Guidance

Information Sources

Ministry of Juctice

National Probation Service

Report on MAPPA in Surrey